A Melody, The Memory

“Rewind and play. Time to go backwards again. I’m moved by the way all the notes in time make a sweet melody. Night into day. We have been captured again. A new time and place to make a million new memories.” -Mae, “A Melody, The Memory”

After writing a blog about my top ten albums on my Korea blog (Faith in Leaping), it was a matter of time before I decided to start my own music blog. I’m one of those annoying people who are always sharing music on social media and trying to promote artists. I like to write more than I talk, but I could talk about music for hours. I’m always eager to discover new music and share it with others. I don’t think anyone who knows me is surprised that I am now writing my own music blog, and I hope to introduce people to a lot of music they might not otherwise know. I’m also a very introspective person, so naturally, I will often write about what the music means to me. Sometimes this will come in the form of lists; other times it will be about whatever song or album I’m digging at the time. Anything is possible! Think of me as your own Rob Gordon from High Fidelity, only female and not a jerk.

I have always had a terrible tendency to listen to certain songs by an artist and ignore other, potentially great, songs by them. Every so often, I discover a song I’ve had for years and wonder why I never listened to it before. I fall in love with songs very easily. In 2007, I started a playlist (one of many) called Every Day Songs. This playlist contains songs that I fell in love with and at one point or another, I listened to them every day. My initial thought was that it would make it easier than trying to switch between songs when I was driving. When I started the playlist, I had no idea the impact it would have on my life. I rarely delete songs from it, only add to it. At the time of writing, there are 363 songs on the playlist. The great thing about it is that I can listen to a song and instantly be taken back to a time in my life. I think we’ve all experienced that with certain songs, but it’s nice to be able to say, “I want to go back to the fall of 2008” and know exactly which songs you were listening to at the time and what was happening in your life when you were listening to those songs frequently. “This is when I liked so-and-so… And this song was when he broke my heart… Oh, and this is when I moved on!” This playlist is not only a collection of songs, you see. It’s a collection of memories from some of the biggest moments in my life. I associate these songs with people, places, times, and experiences.

When I started my blog for my experiences in South Korea, I knew that the title needed to be a song title and that each post would also be a song title. Thinking of a title for this blog, however, was a tall order. I knew it was going to be a music blog, but how could I possibly come up with a title that showed what music has done for me and what my intention is for this blog? All the titles I wanted were already taken. I searched through my iTunes library and jotted down some potential titles. I came upon Mae and saw “A Melody, The Memory.” I have several Mae songs on my Every Day Songs playlist, as well as other playlists, but I did not remember this one at all. According to iTunes, I’ve had it since 2009 but never really listened to it. I listened to it to see if it would be as appropriate for a blog title as it sounded, and I instantly fell in love and added it to my Every Day Songs playlist. It quickly became a top contender for my blog title. The other choice at the time was Jon McLaughlin’s “Above the Radio,” but I would have had to make that one “High Above the Radio” (as the other title was already taken), and the song isn’t really about music. I asked some people which fit better, and nearly everyone agreed that “A Melody, The Memory” suited me best. Apparently I talk about music enough that they know me well.

For someone who (for better or worse) connects music to memories like it’s her job, I really think this is the perfect title for my music blog. I don’t know what I will write about in the future, but I have a feeling that there will be times that it serves as a variation of my Every Day Songs playlist. I might read this blog eight years from now and say, “Oh yeah, that’s what was happening in my life at the time. I still love that Mae song.” Unlike my fairly focused blog about Korea, this blog could take me anywhere. I believe you can tell a lot about a person, including yourself, by the music they listen to and the way they talk about it. I imagine this will be a more personal blog at times than my Korea blog, which is mainly a lighthearted blog about my experiences. I don’t know what music I’ll be listening to a year from now or where my life will take me, but I’m excited for the musical ride, and I’m thrilled to share it with anyone who decides to follow me there.

I think it’s only appropriate that I end this first post with the beautiful song that inspired the title. I hope whoever reads this will enjoy the song as much as I did. “Oh, I know you can feel it. Let it take you there…”

Leave a Reply

